Hyunseok Kim

Hyunseok Kim

Hyunseok Kim, Ph.D. student, has been chosen as the 2016 recipient of the Cathryn Jacobson Ahrenholz Scholarship. This award recognizes a graduate student in the department of economics who has a strong record of academic achievement, shows exceptional promise, and has a dissertation interest in agriculture. The amount of the scholarship is $4,000.

This is the third year that this scholarship is being awarded. The scholarship, which was made possible by a charitable donation from five individuals: James R. Ahrenholz, Karen M. Ahrenholz, Marilyn D. Switzer, John B. Switzer, and Lauren Faith Switzer, was established to recognize the contributions of Cathryn Mae Jacobson Ahrenholz to Iowa State University during her service as secretary to Dr. Earl O. Heady. Dr. Heady was Professor of Economics, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Agriculture, and Director of the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development (CARD).

Kim was also the recipient of the fifth annual CARD Award for Best Ph.D. Dissertation in Agricultural, Environmental, and Energy Economics Policy.

To be considered for this award, graduate students had to submit a copy of their dissertation and a brief summary of how the topic of research related to one of CARD's research areas. Graduate students were required to have completed their final oral examination to be considered.

Story Type: