Undergrads inducted into honor society

2017 Phi Beta Kappa iniiatesOn April 30, 2017, eight economics department students were inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa honor society at a ceremony in the Sun Room at the Memorial Union. Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest nationwide liberal arts and sciences honor society. The organization honors high-achieving students for the excellence and breadth of their undergraduate scholarly records. One-third of the Economics Nobel Prizes have been awarded to Phi Beta Kappans.

On the program was the “Charge to the Initiates” by ISU PBK President Clark Wolf, the “History” by Dale Chimenti and the presentation of awards. 

In the photo (back row, from left): Peter Orazem, university professor and PBK secretary, Catherine Hayes, agricultural business, economics; Alyssa Henderson, psychology, economics; Garrett Nelson, agricultural business, economics; and John Reisner, economics, mathematics. In front row: Rachel Brandt, mathematics, economics; and Renee Layoun, business economics, mathematics. Not shown are Daniel Jacobi, finance, economics and Huiye Lin, economics, and Brent Kreider, professor, who was a member of the course committee that made the selections.