Kim wins Cathryn Jacobson Ahrenholz scholarship

Hyunseok KimHyunseok Kim, Ph.D. student, has been chosen as this year’s recipient of the Cathryn Jacobson Ahrenholz Scholarship. This award recognizes a graduate student in the department of economics who has a strong record of academic achievement, shows exceptional promise, and has a dissertation interest in agriculture. The amount of the scholarship is $4,000.

This is the third year that this scholarship is being awarded. The scholarship, which was made possible by a charitable donation from five individuals: James R. Ahrenholz, Karen M. Ahrenholz, Marilyn D. Switzer, John B. Switzer, and Lauren Faith Switzer, was established to recognize the contributions of Cathryn Mae Jacobson Ahrenholz to Iowa State University during her service as secretary to Dr. Earl O. Heady. Dr. Heady was Professor of Economics, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Agriculture, and Director of the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development (CARD).