Kling named to EPA Scientific Advisory Committee

October 20, 2016

Dr. Catherine KlingCatherine Kling, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor, and Matthew Helmers, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering, were nominated to the Agricultural Science Committee of the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board. They will serve starting Oct. 1.

The committee was created through the Agricultural Act of 2014 to provide advice to the EPA’s Science Advisory Board (SAB) on matters referred to the board, in consultation with the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, may have a significant impact on farming and agriculture-related industries. The committee sought individuals with expertise in agriculture-related sciences, including economics; chemistry; engineering; agronomy; aquaculture science; biofuels engineering; biotechnology; crop and animal science; environmental chemistry; forestry; and hydrology.

Read story