Department members awarded

Three department members received awards for their outstanding work for the economics department and Iowa State University in Spring 2018:

Amy Brandau, academic adviser, has received the CALS 2018 Outstanding Adviser Award.

Not only does Brandau directly advise students, she also co-coordinates eight agricultural business learning communities, teaches an orientation course, co-advises the Agricultural Business Club and co-leads study abroad trips. She makes those commitments, she said, to support students, but she especially enjoys the study abroad trips.

Brandau received her bachelor's degree in agricultural business in 2000 and a master's in business administration in 2008 from Iowa State University.

Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented awards to faculty and staff on March 8 at its Spring-Semester Convocation and Awards Program in the Memorial Union.

Dr. Lee SchulzLee Schulz, assistant professor, has been awarded the 2018 ISU Award for Early Achievement in Extension or Professional Practice.

The award recognizes a faculty, campus staff or field staff member who has demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in extension and/or professional practice unusually early in her/his professional career.

Schulz will be formally recognized with the prize at the University Awards Ceremony, September 14, 2018 in the Great Hall, located inside the Memorial Union.

Schulz has also been awarded the prestigious 2018 Distinguished Extension/Outreach Program, Less than 10 Years Award by the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA).

He will be honored for his outstanding contributions at the AAEA Awards & Fellows Recognition Ceremony at 6 p.m., Monday, August 6, 2018, in Salon II at the 2018 AAEA Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. All are invited to attend. 

Philip GassmanPhilip Gassman, CARD associate scientist, is the 2018 recipient of the Regents Award for Staff Excellence.

This award is a reflection of Gassman's commitment to Iowa State, his professional reputation, and the esteem of his peers. He will be formally recognized at the University Awards Ceremony on September 14, 2018 in the Great Hall, Memorial Union. Congratulations, Phil!