Ag bus freshmen receive Landus scholarships

September 26, 2017

2017 Landus scholarship recipientsLandus Cooperative, in collaboration with ISU's Department of Economics, recently awarded 15 $1,000 scholarships to freshman majoring in agricultural business.

The recipients of this year’s scholarships are: (in photo front, l to r) Olivia Hanlon, Madrid, IA; Marta Grant, Preston, IA; Katelyn Collins, Adel, IA; Brianna Gorham, Illinois City, IL; Mason Ohnemus, Milo, IA; Lauren Parker, Ames, IA; Madeline Pritchett, Boone, IA. Back row: Emma Kehrli, Manchester, IA; Devin Lansing, Cedar Rapids, IA; Denver Schultz, Fairfield, IA; Landon Foster, Guthrie Center, IA; Chandler Jahner, Harvey, IA; Cody Tjossem, Sutherland, IA; Matt Stenzel, Hamburg, IA; and Zack Leist, Clarion, IA.

“Landus Cooperative is motivated to help the next generation succeed in the agriculture industry,” said Landus Cooperative chief executive officer, Milan Kucerak as he expressed his support for these students and the value they bring.

Kucerak noted the scholarships not only support students’ academic endeavors but create an environment to build relationships with the company’s employees. 

“These young men and women are the future of the agriculture industry,” Kucerak added. “We are happy to support these scholarships and learning experiences to help prepare them for the future challenges the agriculture industry will present.”

These scholarships are awarded to freshmen majoring in agricultural business who have a minimum cumulative high school grade point average of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) and graduated in the top 25% of their high school class. Recipients demonstrate agriculture leadership through involvement in agriculture organizations. Preference is given to applicants interested in a career in grain marketing, commodity merchandising, agronomics, elevator management, or grain marketing analysis in a rural area.