2023-2024 Ph.D. Job Market Candidates

Placement Director

John Winters
515-294-6263
winters1@iastate.edu

Xuche Gong

Research Interests: Risk Management, Agricultural Production and Policy, Behavioral Economics, Environmental Economics. 

Job market paper: Insure at the Break-even: a Target Income Model of Farmers’ Crop Insurance Choices  

CV | Major Professors: David A. Hennessy, Hongli Feng

Personal Website    

xcgong@iastate.edu 

Sriparna Goswami

Research Interests: Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Causal Inference 

Job market paper: Advertising Spillovers and Consumer Awareness in the Craft Beer Market

CV | Major Professor: Donghyuk Kim

Personal Website

sriparna@iastate.edu

Mahendra Singh

Research Interests: Commodity Markets, Financial Economics, Risk Management, Agricultural Economics 

Job market paper: Market Stress in Agricultural Markets: Can Alternative Implied Volatility Measures Predict It? 

CV | Major Professor: Sergio H Lence 

Personal Website

mahenks1@iastate.edu

T. Jake Smith

Research Interests: Innovation and Technology Adoption, Agricultural and Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization

Job market paper: Technology Adoption, Learning by Doing, and Reallocation

CV | Major Professor: GianCarlo Moschini

Personal Website

jpsmith@iastate.edu 

Levi Soborowicz

Research Interests: Transportation, Labor, IO, Trade

Job market paper: Occupational switching for truck drivers and related professions

CV | Major Professor: Donghyuk Kim

Personal Website

ljsobo@iastate.edu

Tugba Somuncu

Research Interests: Environmental Economics, Labor Economics, Public Economics

Job market paper: Environmental Regulations, Imperfect Mobility, and the Gender Adaptation Gap

CV | Major Professors: Brent Kreider, Gary Lyn

Personal Website

tsomuncu@iastate.edu

Kyubin Yim

Research Interests: The Economics of Networks/Experimental and Behavioral Economics/Labor Economics/Finance

Job market paper: The effect of networks on cooperation in the finitely repeated prisoner’s dilemma

CV | Major Professor: Elizabeth Hoffman

Personal Website

kyubin48@iastate.edu

Yue Zhao

Research Interests: Agriculture Economics, Energy Economics 

Job market paper: Precautionary Motives in Corn Optimal Seeding Rate Decisions

CV | Major Professor: David Hennessy

Personal Website

yzhao19@iastate.edu

 

Category: