2020 Prescott awardees

May 18, 2020

Raj Chandra, Jiwon Lee, Haoran Li, and Liyuan MaThe graduate student Prescott Scholarship recipients for 2019-2020 are Raj Chandra, Jiwon Lee, Haoran Li, and Liyuan Ma.

From Brent Kreider, LAS dean's professor and director of graduate education:

Raj, Jiwon, Haoran and Liyuan have shown exceptional promise and creativity in their ongoing Ph.D. research. Each will receive $5000 and an engraved plaque commemorating this major accomplishment.

As many of you know, Jim Prescott, Professor Emeritus of this department who passed away in 2012, and his wife Jeri donated very substantial funds to the department to be used for graduate scholarships. Their generous gift makes it possible for us to reward three or four talented students each year for many years. The main purpose of these funds is to recognize and reward high quality, creative doctoral research. Some of these funds may also go towards recruiting new PhD students. 

Normally, the department would formally honor these recipients, along with Jeri, at a reception in Heady Hall. While it became clear early on that such a gathering would not be possible for now, it will eventually happen – even if it turns out that we have to drag each recipient back to Ames (at least virtually) if they’ve moved on to their careers!

Congratulations to Raj, Jiwon, Haoran, and Liyuan for their early research accomplishments!